readingcook

Wonder by R.J. Palacio

In YA Book Reviews on July 17, 2013 at 8:48 pm

Wonder

 by RJ Palacio

Contemporary Fiction/@2012/310 pages/Stand Alone Book*

Publisher Blurb:

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

Summary in a nutshell:

Ten-year-old Auggie Pullman, who was born with extreme facial abnormalities and was not expected to survive, goes from being home-schooled to entering fifth grade at a private middle school in Manhattan, which entails enduring the taunting and fear of his classmates as he struggles to be seen as just another student.

 My thoughts:

I have read some great books in my day, but this one rises to the top of the list.  I really think it is the best book I have ever read. I don’t think I am overstating when I say it is one of those handful of life-changing books that I will always keep in my heart. I loved everything about it. I loved its message about kindness, compassion, integrity, and acceptance. I loved the characters and how different sections were told from their perspectives. I loved Mr. Browne’s precepts, as well as the ones his students came up with – especially Auggie’s which was “Everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their life because we all overcometh the world.” I loved Auggie and Jack and Summer and Mr. Tushman. I loved the illustrations – so simple, yet so powerful. There are parts that are laugh-out-loud funny, and there are parts that absolutely break your heart. It is an amazing book.

You might also like: Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper

 My Rating: 5/5 Stars (I loved it! I absolutely could not put it down. It was an outstanding read in every way. I will keep the book and buy more for gifts.)

Audience: Absolutely everyone – even though it was clearly intended for middle school students,this book deserves a wider audience

My Thoughts Exactly (but with more precise details) Review:

AJCattapan

Leave a Reply

