readingcook

The Power of Six

In YA Book Reviews on August 19, 2013 at 3:10 am

9780061974571_p0_v1_s260x420

 by Pittacus Lore (Pseudonym of James Frey and Jobie Hughes)

YA Science Fiction/@2011/406 pages/Part of a Series*

Publisher’s Blurb:

I’ve seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened in Ohio. John Smith, out there, on the run. To the world, he’s a mystery. But to me . . . he’s one of us.

Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us—if we all still believe in our mission. How can I know? There are six of us left. We’re hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another . . . but our Legacies are developing, and soon we’ll be equipped to fight. Is John Number Four, and is his appearance the sign I’ve been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who may be strong enough to bring the six of us together?

They caught Number One in Malaysia.

Number Two in England.

And Number Three in Kenya.

They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio—and failed.

I am Number Seven. One of six still alive.

And I’m ready to fight.

My Thoughts:

This is the second book in the Lorien Legacies (and yes, you have to read them in order or you are going to be utterly confused). I can’t believe I am still reading this series. I never considered myself a sci-fi fan, but I guess I was wrong. The basic premise of the series is that nine young aliens hide on Earth after the destruction of their world by the evil Mogadorians. Now, though, the aliens are beginning to fight back, both to save themselves and their adopted world. In the first book, I Am Number Four, John Smith escaped capture in Paradise, Ohio. Now, on the run with Sam and Number Six, they must find the rest of the remaining six of nine alien survivors in order to fight the impending invasion. I like the main characters, I like the interaction between them, and I like all the plot twists and turns. I liked that the story is told in alternating chapters by Number Four and Number Seven. It is a quick, enjoyable read.  It may not be the best series I have ever read, but I like it enough and I am vested enough to read the next one, The Rise of Nine . I got this far and I want to know what happens. High praise, especially from someone who has always claimed to hate science fiction. Oh, yeah, I am hooked.

My Rating: 3 ½ Stars

In my Opinion: This book is suitable for 11-year-olds and above. There is a lot of violence, but mostly it just involves the destruction of the despicable Mogadorians. Older children will certainly not perceive them as real and most likely will not find them disturbing. All in all, it is a good series to recommend to students as an intro to science fiction, as well as to reluctant readers.

Other Thoughts:

http://www.geeksofdoom.com/2011/09/06/book-review-the-power-of-six

 

Leave a Reply

