The Raven Boys

In YA Book Reviews on May 28, 2014 at 12:42 am


by Maggie Stiefvater

YA Fantasy/©2012/408 Pages/First in a Trilogy

Publisher Info (Goodreads):

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.  Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her. His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

My Thoughts:

Truly an intriguing story line, but the stand out feature of this book for me are the characters. Maggie Stiefvater is a great storyteller, but she is an absolute master of character development. She does take her time establishing the story line and introducing the characters, but I did not find myself losing interest or getting bored. There is an interesting pace to it, and it sucked me right in. There are several twists and turns and so many unanswered questions as this first of a trilogy comes to an end. I will definitely be reading the next two!

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

Other Books in The Raven Cycle Trilogy: The Dream Thieves (©2013) and Blue Lily, Lily Blue (©October 21, 2014)

Other Thoughts:

Cuddlebuggery Book Blog


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: