readingcook

The Testing

In YA Book Reviews on August 22, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Unknown-1

by Joelle Charbonneau

Dystopian/©2013/336 Pages/1st in a Trilogy/Recommended for 7th Grade and Above

Publisher’s Comments (Amazon):

It’s graduation day for sixteen-year-old Malencia Vale, and the entire Five Lakes Colony (the former Great Lakes) is celebrating. All Cia can think about—hope for—is whether she’ll be chosen for The Testing, a United Commonwealth program that selects the best and brightest new graduates to become possible leaders of the slowly revitalizing post-war civilization. When Cia is chosen, her father finally tells her about his own nightmarish half-memories of The Testing. Armed with his dire warnings (”Cia, trust no one”), she bravely heads off to Tosu City, far away from friends and family, perhaps forever. Danger, romance—and sheer terror—await.

My Thoughts: This book definitely redefines the idea of “high stakes testing”! The plot is fast paced, with so many twists and turns and one cliff hanger after another.  I will tell you right now, it is difficult to put down. The story is told from Cia’s viewpoint. I found her to be a well thought out character with some interesting skills in math and science that I fully appreciate seeing front and center in a female character. I was fascinated by how she figured things out. Tomas and Will…those two, I am not so sure about. I had to keep rethinking my initial perception of them, and I am sure that I will be in for some surprises as I continue reading the series. The author did a great job setting up the society with its Stages of Destruction, different colonies, and its method of government and choosing its leaders. It is thought provoking on so many levels. Definitely a worthwhile and engaging read.

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

Recommended for: Fans of Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent

Other Reviews:

The Book Smugglers

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: